Guide

Amazon Transparency: what it costs and when it is worth it

By Josh Pigford, founder of Knockoff. Written

Amazon Transparency puts a unique Amazon-issued code on every unit you make of an enrolled product, and Amazon reads that code when the unit reaches a fulfillment center. All in, it costs $0.17 to $0.63 a unit. It is for a brand that holds a registered trademark, sells on Amazon, and is losing units on its own listings to sellers it never authorized.

Amazon charges nothing to enroll and $0.05 for every code you order, up to a million codes in a twelve-month window. Codes are the cheap part. A Transparency-sized die-cut label costs about $0.018 to $0.033 apiece. Paying someone to put one on every unit runs $0.10 to $0.55 at PrepVia's published industry-wide rate for FNSKU labeling, used here as a proxy. Every one of those lines is charged per unit, so the all-in stays flat at any volume a direct-to-consumer brand will reach.

It is worth that money when unauthorized sellers are taking units off your own Amazon listings and your margin absorbs a per-unit cost that never falls with volume. It is not worth it if your mark is still pending, because Transparency requires an active registered trademark where Brand Registry accepts a pending application. That single rule settles the question for a lot of brands before any arithmetic starts.

Key findings

  • The price per unit does not fall with volume for any brand under a million units a year, on Amazon's published table, read September 3, 2026. Every direct-to-consumer volume sits inside Amazon's first tier at $0.05 a code, and Amazon resets the counter every twelve months on your account-creation anniversary, so a brand making 200,000 units a year never reaches the $0.03 tier.
  • The code is 8% to 30% of the outsourced all-in. What costs money is the label and the hand that applies it.
  • Brands enrolled roughly doubled between 2022 and 2024, from over 33,000 to 88,000, and Amazon reported no Transparency brand count at all for 2023.
  • One page ranking for this query puts the volume tiers at 5,000 and 25,000 units. Amazon's own page says 1,000,000 and 10,000,000.

What Amazon Transparency actually is

Transparency is unit-level serialization. One code, one unit, checked at the door. Amazon's own sentence for what you are buying is the listing block: "Once your products are fully protected by Transparency, they cannot be listed in Amazon's Transparency-supported stores without valid Transparency codes that match the enrolled product." The scan point is stated just as plainly: "Your Transparency codes will be scanned when units arrive at the Amazon fulfillment center." Amazon reads the codes. Printing them and putting them on the boxes is yours, your manufacturer's, your co-packer's or your prep center's job. Transparency and Project Zero are separate programs solving different problems, and how Transparency and Project Zero differ covers the choice between them.

Three gates sit in front of it, and one of them is stricter than Brand Registry's. Amazon asks for a Brand Registry account "associated with your brand's trademark and assigned the 'rights owner' role", "an active, registered trademark for your brand", and "a Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) for each product you want to enroll in Transparency". Note the second one. Brand Registry's own requirements page asks you to "have a pending or registered trademark for your brand name or logo". Transparency stops at registered. If your application is still pending you are eligible for Brand Registry and not for Transparency, and no amount of budget changes that, so start with what Brand Registry requires first.

Amazon adds a separate requirement for anyone ordering Amazon-issued codes, and it is the operational surprise: "the ability to add codes to every unit you manufacture, regardless of where the units are sold". Your wholesale pallets and your Shopify inventory carry the same labels and the same per-code charge, on units Amazon never sees. Transparency runs in ten stores, the US, Canada, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the UK, Australia, India and Japan, and Amazon adds that brands from Australia are not currently eligible to enroll while still receiving protection in the Australia store. All quotes read from sell.amazon.com on September 3, 2026.

What Amazon Transparency costs

Amazon's wording is "Transparency has no enrollment costs, no subscription costs, and no minimums." On the code price it says "You only pay when you order codes", and "not when you enroll in the program or add products". That is Amazon's line item. It is not the bill. Here is Amazon's table, with Amazon's own column headers, read from sell.amazon.com on September 3, 2026.

Amazon's published Transparency code price, read from sell.amazon.com/brand-registry/transparency on September 3, 2026. Column headers are Amazon's.
Number of generated codes Price per code
1 to 1,000,000 $0.05
1,000,001 to 10,000,000 $0.03
10,000,001+ $0.01

No brand under a million units a year ever touches the $0.03 tier. Amazon states the reset rule alongside the table: "Your annual code volume resets each year on the date of your account creation, and pricing tiers are based on cumulative volume within that period." The second tier starts at code 1,000,001 inside one twelve-month window, and the window restarts every twelve months. A brand making 200,000 units a year would need five years of production to cross a line that resets every one. The volume tiers are real, and no direct-to-consumer brand reaches them.

Two more clauses change the arithmetic. Bringing your own serial numbers does not make the codes free: Amazon says "There's a per-unit cost for Amazon-issued Transparency codes and for existing serial codes connected to Transparency." And Amazon's own June 2021 Transparency onboarding guide notes that "the codes generated are a separate cost from that of the physical labels", which is the whole reason the next section exists. As of that same June 2021 guide, Amazon took payment for codes by check or wire transfer and could not deduct it from a Seller Central or Vendor Central balance.

The bill nobody prints, from label stock to the hand that applies it

Three lines sit on top of the code, and only one of them is Amazon's. Here is each formula and where its number came from, so you can swap in your own quote.

  • Codes. Units times $0.05, for any volume under 1,000,001 codes in a twelve-month window. Amazon's price.
  • Die-cut label stock. LabelValue's Type 3 Transparency SKU LV-TP1375TT, a 1.375 inch square, 500 labels a roll, listed at $16.48 and "as low as" $8.93 on volume. That is $0.0330 a label at the single-roll price and $0.0179 at the volume price. Read from labelvalue.com on September 3, 2026.
  • Blank stock, if you self-print. Uline S-6248, a 1.5 inch square thermal transfer label, 3,500 to a roll, sold by the case of eight rolls, so every purchase is a multiple of eight. The per-roll price is $18 at eight rolls, $17 at 16, and $15 at 24 or more, which is $0.0051 down to $0.0043 a label. The product title says "Ribbons Required". Read from uline.com on September 3, 2026.
  • Ribbon. $8.53 for 2 inches by 1,476 feet. At a 1.5 inch pitch for a 1.375 inch label, which is our assumption and not a published figure, one ribbon runs 11,808 labels. Ribbon is a rounding error at $0.0007 a label.
  • Application labor. Units times $0.10 to $0.55, using PrepVia's published industry-wide FNSKU labeling range as a stated proxy. It is not a Transparency price and not an Amazon fee. We could not find a prep center that publishes a Transparency rate, and the six North America Transparency Service Providers on Amazon's own roster are quote-only.

Amazon's public size guidance is the four label-type minimums in its June 2021 onboarding guide: 1.125 inch square for Type 1, 0.75 by 1.75 inches for Type 2, 1.375 inch square for Type 3, and 1.375 by 4 inches for Type 4, with the note that "You are not required to use specific label sizes". The 0.5 inch minimum for the code itself, which LabelValue's guide writes as a Transparency code or a 2D Data Matrix barcode, with a 0.04 inch quiet zone around it, is LabelValue's statement and not Amazon's. No Amazon-hosted page publishes those numbers. For brands connecting their own serial numbers, Amazon asks for the barcode "on the same side of the packaging as the GTIN", the UPC or EAN already on your carton. The same June 2021 guide requires "a Thermal Transfer Printer (300dpi or greater)" if you print in house, and says the In-Plant Printing software itself costs nothing extra.

Lane one, outsourced: Transparency die-cut labels plus paid application. Codes are Amazon's price. Label stock is LabelValue's published range for SKU LV-TP1375TT. The labor column is a stated proxy using PrepVia's published industry-wide FNSKU labeling range, not a Transparency price. Our arithmetic, September 3, 2026.
Units a year Codes at $0.05 Die-cut labels Application labor, proxy All in Per unit
1,000 $50 $18 to $33 $100 to $550 $168 to $633 $0.17 to $0.63
10,000 $500 $179 to $330 $1,000 to $5,500 $1,679 to $6,330 $0.17 to $0.63
50,000 $2,500 $895 to $1,650 $5,000 to $27,500 $8,395 to $31,650 $0.17 to $0.63
200,000 $10,000 $3,580 to $6,600 $20,000 to $110,000 $33,580 to $126,600 $0.17 to $0.63
Lane two, in house: self-print on Uline blank stock with your own line time, ribbon excluded because it rounds to $0.0007 a label. Uline sells this SKU only by the case of eight rolls of 3,500, so every purchase rounds up to a multiple of eight rolls, and the per-roll price breaks at 8, 16 and 24 or more rolls: $18, $17, $15. The smallest purchase is eight rolls and 28,000 labels. Our arithmetic, September 3, 2026.
Units a year Codes at $0.05 Uline stock, whole cases All-in materials Per unit
1,000 $50 8 rolls, $144 (28,000 labels, you use 1,000) $194 $0.194
10,000 $500 8 rolls, $144 $644 $0.064
50,000 $2,500 16 rolls at $17, $272 $2,772 $0.055
200,000 $10,000 64 rolls at $15, $960 $10,960 $0.055

The in-house lane is the only one that improves with scale, and only because the label stock is sold in cases. $0.194 a unit at 1,000 units falls to $0.055 at 200,000, and almost all of that fall is the first case of labels spreading over more units. Below the fall, the code is a hard floor at $0.05.

Put your own volume in and the estimator below runs the same arithmetic. It runs in your browser and sends nothing anywhere.

Price your own volume

Every unit of the enrolled product, not just the units that sell on Amazon.

How the labels get on

$1,679 to $6,330

$0.17 to $0.63 a unit, on 10,000 units a year.

Codes
$500
Label stock
$179 to $330
Application labor
$1,000 to $5,500
Per unit
$0.17 to $0.63

Our arithmetic on $0.05 a code, $0.0179 to $0.0330 a label, $0.10 to $0.55 labor, every figure read September 3, 2026: Amazon's published code price, LabelValue's and Uline's published label prices, and PrepVia's published industry-wide FNSKU labeling range used as a stated labor proxy. Amazon does not state whether the tiers are marginal or applied to the whole year's volume. We price them as marginal bands. This is our arithmetic, not a quote.

How to enroll in Amazon Transparency, and the four steps

Clear the three gates first: the Brand Registry account with the rights-owner role, the active registered trademark, and a GTIN for every product you want to enroll. Seven questions will check whether your mark clears Brand Registry's rules.

  1. 1. Enroll the brand. From Brand Registry, with the rights-owner role on the account.
  2. 2. Add the products. One GTIN each. Amazon's page states there are "no costs for adding or removing products from the program", so you can pilot a single SKU before you commit a production run to it.
  3. 3. Order codes, or connect the serial numbers you already print. Existing codes must be "unique, serialized numbers that are 7 to 20 characters long", externally scannable in 1D, QR or 2D formats, with the barcode on the same side of the packaging as the GTIN. Either route is billed per unit.
  4. 4. Get the codes onto every unit. Amazon points small and medium brands at self-printing, listing "self-print labels" for "small or medium brands that want full control with no third-party dependency". The alternatives are design-in artwork at your printer or a Transparency Service Provider.

Enrollment is not protection. Amazon's own note: "Transparency protections aren't active until your product passes the operational performance review." Amazon does not publish how long that review takes, and the operational guide that would say is login-gated, which Amazon states on the page itself. Budget for a gap between paying for codes and getting the listing block you paid for.

Two smaller notes worth having before you commit a production run. Amazon says some brands "may be eligible for a Transparency badge on their product detail page", and the hedge is Amazon's. And in 2025 Transparency joined GS1 as a Premier Solution Partner, which Amazon says allows enrolled brands to integrate unit-level serialization with GS1's 2D barcode format, "reducing the need for multiple codes on the same package". If your packaging is already tight, ask about that before you design a second label into it.

How the Transparency app works, and how much it gets used

A shopper opens Amazon's Transparency app, or the regular Amazon Shopping app, scans the code on the unit, and the app reports whether that code is valid for that product. It is one of the two things Amazon sells the program on, alongside the listing block. It is also the part that disappears if you bring your own codes: Amazon states that "Customer product authentication through app scanning isn't available for products connected to Transparency using existing serial codes."

Amazon's own headline figures, footnoted "Amazon internal data, May 2026", are 90,000+ brands enrolled since 2017, 2.7 billion+ product units verified as genuine through Transparency since launch, and 10 countries where products are protected. Both app stores publish what the shopper half of that looks like. On the US App Store on September 3, 2026, the app carried a 2.09 average across 32 ratings, at version 4.0.9, released June 27, 2026, first released December 7, 2016. On Google Play the same day and the same version, updated June 15, 2026, it carried a 1.98 average across 1,984 ratings inside a 1M+ install band. Those are the figures Amazon and the app stores each publish.

What happens to other sellers on your ASIN

Amazon publishes no page setting out the reseller transition. Every Seller Central help node on Transparency is behind a login. So what exists is the forum record, and it is worth reading before you flip a switch that lands on other people's inventory.

The mechanics, as one reseller describes them. Writing on sellersasksellers.com on January 14, 2026, a poster using the handle RiverRetail says that once an ASIN is in the program, current sellers are told to comply by a date, units already at a fulfillment center are allowed until they sell out, and seller-fulfilled units must carry the code within a window the poster puts at "like 14-30 iirc". That hedge is the poster's own and it stays on this page, because no Amazon source states any window. On January 19 the same poster added that "when you start transparency on an ASIN you provide Amazon with a list of authorized sellers on the platform", and on January 17 another poster, primetime, wrote that authorized sellers would need codes supplied to them while "unauthorized sellers would be blocked from creating offers since they wouldn't have the codes".

Amazon's compliance email, as quoted by a seller on Amazon's forum on February 2, 2025. "After December 22, 2024, units on the list that reach a fulfillment center without a valid Transparency or serial number barcode cannot be sold and will be marked as 'unfulfillable' in Seller Central." That is one seller's paste of one email about one ASIN. Treat it as the shape of the notice, not as published policy. In the same post, seller Seller_MYekJ4oKbt3Rd described a listing "stranded due to Amazon requiring Transparency codes" with "the only option available requires Transparency codes, which we cannot access". An Amazon community manager, Manny_Amazon, replied on February 7, 2025 that he had contacted his partner team. No resolution appears in the thread.

The no-notice case. On June 29, 2024, a seller wrote: "I sent in a lot of product 2 weeks ago to amazon FC. While my items were in transit, the brand turned on transparency labels. There was no notice before hand, no asking for transparency codes before I shipped them in, no 30 day warning." A community manager, Emet_Amazon, replied on July 5, 2024 that "even if there were no sales of the product it would appear the concern still lays with the lack of transparency labels, requiring invoices to confirm authenticity and valid supply chain." If you have legitimate resellers you want to keep, the sequencing is on you.

One warning belongs here and it is not Amazon's. The agency ZQUARED writes on its own site, published September 24, 2025 and updated January 14, 2026, that using Transparency to block resellers "violates Terms of Service", that the program was "created to fight counterfeit products, not to control distribution", and that "every single unit sold anywhere must include a unique Transparency code". ZQUARED quotes no Amazon policy text and we found no Amazon page saying it, so that is ZQUARED's reading, not a rule we can cite. A reseller holding genuine units bought through a legitimate channel will point at the first-sale doctrine, and the appeal route in the no-notice thread above ran on invoices confirming authenticity and a valid supply chain rather than on a letter of authorization from you. What it is good for is the question it raises about your reason for enrolling. If the real problem is one seller who took over your listing rather than fake units, read when someone takes over your listing first.

Where Transparency fails

On June 10, 2025, a seller posted to Amazon's forum: "A Transparency code that we generated and used to ship a real product through Amazon FBA was later reused by a fake seller to list and deliver a counterfeit item. Same code. Same label. Different (fake) product." They added that "the system does not block reused codes, even when they've already been consumed through FBA. That's what scares us the most."

The next day an Amazon community manager, Dougal_Amazon, replied that the reused code "Does violate 2 areas of Transparency codes. 1. The same code being used for more than 1 unit and 2. The code not matching the ASIN it is associated with." Read those two posts carefully, because they say different things. Amazon confirmed the rule. The seller reported that the system did not enforce it. Amazon did not confirm the second half, and nobody should write that it did.

The structural point needs no source at all. A Transparency code is a static printed mark on a box. Amazon's design claim is that codes are non-sequential, which defeats guessing. It does not defeat photographing one and printing it again. Serialization raises the cost of faking your product. It does not make it arithmetically impossible, and somebody still has to notice.

The operational failure mode is duller and more common. One seller, posting on April 16, 2024, described having to "remove the whole shipment back to an warehouse, relabel, and send the units back to Amazon". A code that is missing, unreadable or on the wrong side of the box turns a shipment into a return trip. And Amazon's own community manager Glenn_Amazon drew the boundary himself in a March 6, 2025 thread: Transparency "won't be able to prevent a Brand Owner from selling goods that don't match the detail page, but Transparency will require that every unit sold on Amazon have a serial number that ties to the product and the Brand." The code ties a serial to a brand. It does not tie what is in the box to what is on the detail page. One question sits unanswered in the record rather than in the program: Amazon's language throughout is fulfillment-center-centric, and we found no Amazon statement either way on whether seller-fulfilled units get the same protection.

What Transparency does not cover

EcomCrew puts the boundary in six words, on a page last updated February 1, 2026: "Transparency is only for your listings." And, in the same piece: "If counterfeiters are trying to sell your product outside of your listing, you'll need to raise an IP concern." Amazon's own wording agrees by construction. The listing block is scoped to "Amazon's Transparency-supported stores" and the scan happens "when units arrive at the Amazon fulfillment center". Outside those two places, nothing in the program is running.

Five things a code on your box does nothing about.

  • Anything off Amazon. Ten stores, one company. A copy on Temu, eBay, Etsy, AliExpress, Walmart or a standalone site never meets a scanner of yours.
  • A copycat listing under another brand. Their ASIN, their inventory, your stolen product photos. No code of yours is ever scanned, so nothing triggers. That is a copyright claim on the photographs, and how the Report a Violation form actually works is the route.
  • A design clone. Same shape, different name, their own photos. Serialization has no opinion about it.
  • A gray-market reseller. Genuine units bought through a legitimate channel carry genuine codes and pass authentication, which is what the program is designed to do.
  • Your brand anywhere else on the web. A cloned storefront, a misspelled version of your domain, your photos in someone else's ad. None of it touches a GTIN.

Is Amazon Transparency worth it?

Answer by segment. Each of these is decided by something you can observe today, not by a judgment call.

  • Your mark is still pending. No, and the decision is made for you. Transparency wants an active registration. If you have not filed, what it costs to get a mark filed covers the Amazon route and the price of doing it yourself, and you can price your own filing in a minute. If you filed on an intent-to-use basis, the Statement of Use and what it costs is the step between you and a registration.
  • Amazon is your main channel and unauthorized sellers are on your listings. This is the strongest case and the one the program was built for. A seller who has run it since the beginning puts it plainly on Amazon's forum: "I have used Transparency since it first began years ago. My brand is sold on Amazon only. Therefore, it brings me huge value."
  • You sell mostly off Amazon. Weak. Amazon's eligibility list asks for codes on "every unit you manufacture, regardless of where the units are sold", so you pay per unit on inventory Amazon never handles. One seller's account of the same trade: "you needed to print a label (and pay Amazn for each label) for every unit you sold, whether through amzn or through other channels. I hated the concept because of 1) cost, 2) amount of work, and specially 3) wtf Amzn, why would I give you the exact data of how much I sell?" Another, on Reddit in May 2026: "Transparency is a hassle. Its better for a company like Mattel or licensed Disney products ... but for a small brand it will only increase your production costs."
  • Your packaging cannot carry the label. No, until you re-spec the carton. The minimum sizes are in the bill section above, and on a small carton or a pouch that block has to go somewhere, so if design-in artwork at your printer is not an option the answer is a peeled label on every unit forever.
  • Somebody else runs your packaging line. Not yet. Every unit you manufacture needs a code on it, so a contract manufacturer, co-packer or 3PL that will not add the step has to agree to it before the enrollment buys you anything.
  • The copies are off Amazon. Wrong tool. Nothing on that list changes because you enrolled.

One more thing to weigh, from an Amazon community manager rather than from us. In a March 2025 thread, Glenn_Amazon told a brand describing its own controls: "Again, this program may not be for you, it sounds like you have your own solutions, but other Brands, as has been mentioned here have found this program effective". Amazon's own staff will tell you to skip it. Once you do register the mark, work out what keeping the registration alive costs later, because Transparency eligibility rides on the registration staying active.

Transparency by the numbers, 2019 to 2025

Amazon has reported a Transparency brand count in five annual reports and skipped it in one. Every page quoting one of those headlines quotes it alone, so here is the series with its hole in it. 10,000 brands in 2019, more than 15,000 in 2020, more than 23,000 in 2021, and over 33,000 in 2022. Then nothing: Amazon's March 2024 report gives Project Zero's brand count and no Transparency brand count for 2023. The count returns at 88,000 in the 2024 Brand Protection Report, published the following year, and over 90,000 in the 2025 Trustworthy Shopping Experience Report, published April 2026, where Amazon states it as a cumulative figure "since 2017". The count roughly doubled between 2022 and 2024 with no reported figure in between, and that is as much as the series supports.

Brands enrolled in Transparency roughly doubled between 2022 and 2024, with no figure reported for 2023 Seven yearly bars on one zero-based axis of brands enrolled in Amazon's Transparency program, as reported in Amazon's own annual brand-protection reports. 2019, ten thousand. 2020, more than fifteen thousand. 2021, more than twenty three thousand. 2022, more than thirty three thousand. 2023 is drawn as an empty slot because Amazon reported no Transparency brand count that year. 2024, eighty eight thousand. 2025, more than ninety thousand, which Amazon states as a cumulative figure since 2017. The units series is not drawn on this axis because Amazon's measure changes in 2023. 0 25k 50k 75k 100k Brands enrolled 2019 10,000 2020 15,000+ 2021 23,000+ 2022 33,000+ 2023 not reported 2024 88,000 2025 90,000+ Brands enrolled in Transparency as reported in Amazon's own annual brand-protection reports, 2019 to 2025. Amazon did not report a Transparency brand count for 2023. The 2025 figure is Amazon's cumulative count since 2017, from the 2025 Trustworthy Shopping Experience Report, published April 2026. Read by Knockoff on September 3, 2026.
The units series, kept off the drawing on purpose. Amazon's verb changes in 2023, from units protected in the year to units verified since launch, so these six figures are not one line.
Year Units Amazon reports What the figure measures
2020 500 million+ units protected in the year
2021 750 million+ units protected in the year
2022 900 million+ units protected in the year
2023 1.6 billion+ definition changes: units verified since launch
2024 2.5 billion+ units verified since launch
2025 2.7 billion+ units verified since launch

The units figure changes meaning in 2023 and almost nobody says so. Through 2022 Amazon reported units protected in the year: more than 500 million in 2020, more than 750 million in 2021 with Amazon itself calling that "a 50% increase compared to 2020", and more than 900 million in 2022. From 2023 the verb changes to "have been authenticated" and then "have been verified", which is a running total since launch. So 2.7 billion is a program-to-date number, not a 2025 number, and 500 million to 2.7 billion is not one growth line. Amazon also dates its own launch two ways: the 2026 report says "Since 2017", an October 2023 Amazon newsroom post says "We launched Transparency in 2016". Both are Amazon's.

What the SERP gets wrong about the price

A page ranking for this query puts the volume tiers 200 to 400 times lower than Amazon does. brandsbro.com, in a piece whose structured data carries a published date of July 26, 2025 and a modified date of June 24, 2026, tells readers: "If you're labeling up to 5,000 units, expect to pay about 5 cents for each Transparency code. For orders between 5,001 and 25,000 units, the cost per unit label usually drops to 3 cents. Large brands that label more than 25,000 units often qualify for the lowest pricing, just 1 cent per code." Amazon's own table says the bands are 1 to 1,000,000, 1,000,001 to 10,000,000, and 10,000,001 or more. A brand budgeting off that page at 30,000 units a year would price its codes at $300 and get billed $1,500.

Part of why this is a mess is Amazon. Its onboarding guide, the June 2021 global version, prints the tier structure as three bands, "< 1 MM codes", then 1 MM to 10 MM codes, then "> 10 MM codes", with no dollar values in it at all. The operational document withholds the price the marketing page publishes. And before 2026 the only first-hand price on the open record was a 2018 post on r/FulfillmentByAmazon giving the three tiers, hedged by its own author as "2018 Pricing as of 1/1/2017 (This may change)". Check the live table at sell.amazon.com before you budget, and check it again next quarter.

What to do about the copies Transparency cannot touch

Transparency defends units of your enrolled product inside Amazon's fulfillment network, and that is worth paying for when it is your problem. Enrolling changes nothing about the copies that never come near your GTIN. Those need a different tool, and that is the one Knockoff makes. It watches your Shopify catalog's product photos across Amazon, Temu, eBay, Etsy, AliExpress, Walmart and the open web, confirms a match by finding your photo in the other seller's own listing gallery, and hands you a complete case: the archived page, the timestamped screenshot, the side by side, and the exact notice. You approve every case, a reviewer reads the notice, and you file it through the platform's own portal. Relists trigger a follow-up package. We make no detection or removal guarantees, because the removal decision belongs to the platform. How Knockoff works walks the whole path, and you can run a free scan of your catalog before you decide anything.

Where every figure came from

Every source below was read on September 3, 2026 unless the entry says otherwise. Amazon changes program terms and vendors change prices without notice, so re-check before you budget. We re-check this page quarterly.

  • The code price, the tiers, the reset rule, eligibility, the listing block and the store list. sell.amazon.com/brand-registry/transparency, which carries no date of its own. The old brandservices.amazon.com address now redirects here, so anyone citing that host is citing a dead URL.
  • The Brand Registry pending-application rule. sell.amazon.com/brand-registry.
  • Label-type minimums, the thermal transfer requirement, the payment methods, the tier table with no dollar values in it, and the separate-cost note. Amazon's Transparency Onboarding Guidelines, Global Version 3, updated June 2021, hosted by Amazon. Dated because it is five years old.
  • Die-cut label prices. labelvalue.com, SKU LV-TP1375TT at $16.48 a roll of 500 and "as low as" $8.93. The 0.5 inch minimum code size and its 0.04 inch quiet zone are LabelValue's own guide, not Amazon's.
  • Blank stock and ribbon. uline.com, model S-6248, 3,500 labels a roll at $18 for 8 rolls, $17 for 16 and $15 for 24 or more, and a 2 inch by 1,476 foot resin enhanced wax ribbon at $8.53.
  • The application-labor proxy. prepvia.com, which publishes $0.10 to $0.55 a unit as an industry-wide range for FNSKU labeling. FNSKU labeling is a different service from Transparency. We use it as a stated proxy because no prep center we could find publishes a Transparency rate.
  • The brand and unit series. Amazon's 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024 Brand Protection Reports and the 2025 Trustworthy Shopping Experience Report published April 2026. The 2024 edition is the last one carrying the Brand Protection Report name.
  • The app figures. Apple's own lookup API behind the US App Store listing, and the Google Play listing, both pulled September 3, 2026.
  • The forum record. Seller Central threads and one sellersasksellers.com thread, dated from the machine-readable timestamps on each page rather than the site's relative labels. Every one is an individual account from one side of a situation, not a statement about how the program generally behaves.

Two things we deliberately left off this page. There is no "counterfeits reduced by X%" figure anywhere here, because no study, controlled comparison or Amazon figure supports one. And there is no documented case of a Transparency code being cloned, because the only source making that claim sells a competing authentication product and cites nothing.

Amazon Transparency questions

How much does the Amazon Transparency Program cost? +

Amazon charges nothing to enroll and $0.05 a code for the first million codes in a twelve-month window, $0.03 from code 1,000,001, and $0.01 above 10,000,001, with the counter resetting each year on the date your account was created. Codes are the small half. Add a Transparency-sized die-cut label at $0.018 to $0.033, and application labor at $0.10 to $0.55 a unit using PrepVia's published industry-wide FNSKU labeling range as a stated proxy, and the all-in runs $0.17 to $0.63 a unit. Prices read from sell.amazon.com, labelvalue.com and prepvia.com on September 3, 2026.

Is Amazon Transparency worth it? +

It is worth it when unauthorized sellers are taking units off your own listings on Amazon, you control the packaging line, and your margin absorbs a per-unit cost that does not fall with volume. It is not worth it if your trademark is still pending, because Transparency requires an active registered mark where Brand Registry accepts a pending application. It is also the wrong tool if the copies are separate listings under someone else's brand, on other marketplaces, or on a cloned storefront, because none of those ever scan a code of yours.

What is Amazon's Transparency program? +

It is Amazon's unit-level serialization program. You put a unique Amazon-issued code on every unit you manufacture of an enrolled product, and Amazon says "Your Transparency codes will be scanned when units arrive at the Amazon fulfillment center." Once a product is fully protected, Amazon states it "cannot be listed in Amazon's Transparency-supported stores without valid Transparency codes that match the enrolled product." Three gates: a Brand Registry account holding the rights-owner role, "an active, registered trademark for your brand", and a GTIN for each product you enroll. Read from sell.amazon.com on September 3, 2026.

How do I enroll in Amazon Transparency? +

You need the three eligibility items first: a Brand Registry account "associated with your brand's trademark and assigned the 'rights owner' role", "an active, registered trademark for your brand", and "a Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) for each product you want to enroll". Then you enroll the brand, add the products, order or connect codes, and get the codes onto every unit. Amazon points small and medium brands at self-printing. One line matters more than the steps: Amazon notes that "Transparency protections aren't active until your product passes the operational performance review", so enrollment is not protection.

How does the Transparency app work? +

A shopper scans the code on the unit in Amazon's Transparency app or in the Amazon Shopping app, and the app reports whether that code is valid for that product. Brands that connect their own existing serial codes instead of ordering Amazon's do not get this: Amazon states that "Customer product authentication through app scanning isn't available for products connected to Transparency using existing serial codes." As of September 3, 2026, the app carries a 2.09 average across 32 ratings on the US App Store and 1.98 across 1,984 ratings on Google Play, where the install band reads 1M+. Both stores show version 4.0.9.

What happens to other sellers when I enroll an ASIN? +

Amazon publishes no page setting out the reseller transition, so what exists is the forum record. One reseller describes giving Amazon a list of authorized sellers when starting Transparency on an ASIN, and says unauthorized sellers are blocked from creating offers because they have no codes. In Amazon's compliance email, as quoted by a seller on Amazon's forum on February 2, 2025: "After December 22, 2024, units on the list that reach a fulfillment center without a valid Transparency or serial number barcode cannot be sold and will be marked as 'unfulfillable' in Seller Central." That is one seller's paste of one email about one ASIN, not a general rule.

Cite this page

Knockoff. "Amazon Transparency: what it costs and when it is worth it." Published September 3, 2026. https://knockoff.co/guides/amazon-transparency

Every quote and price above was read from its source on September 3, 2026. The cost tables are our arithmetic on published prices, not a quote from Amazon or from any vendor, and the application-labor line is a stated proxy rather than a Transparency rate. Amazon changes program terms without notice. Knockoff makes brand protection software, is not a law firm, and this page is general information rather than legal advice. Knockoff plans start at $99 a month.

Knockoff

Find out who's copying your products

Connect your store and see your first scan today.

Get started